React and Adapt

Things don’t always go as planned

“Stick to your vision but adapt to your plan”Brian Maggi

Before I went to bed Friday night I set a plan in place for my Saturday. Wake up @ 7:30am eat breakfast, shower and be at work for 9. Work my last 4 hour shift(Starting 8’s Sunday). After work I was going to the gym. This was the day I thought I’d start on the bikes.

Went to sleep about 10:30pm. Wide awake at 5am with no chance of getting those 2 hours or so of sleep in, so I got up and made some oatmeal for breakfast. Okay no problem, since I’m up I might as well start my day with a trip top he gym instead of having it after work. Gym doesn’t open until 7am so as I ate I watched a few youtube videos including this one. https://youtu.be/Zy64CQP7Pq0 I’ve seen it before, but I really like this guys series and I wanted to watch it again, along with a few others on his channel.

A 6:45 I packed a gym bag, some snacks and headed to the YMCA, arriving right at 7. This is when I noticed I didn’t have my gym shoes( I was wearing my work shoes) and therefore could not ride the bikes. In the past I probably would have just gone home. Not today, not ever again. I just changed my plan of action but kept the goal the same. I knew the pool opened at 7:30 so I sat in the comfy chairs in the men’s change room, read the news paper and headed down stairs to the pool. I had a great 30 minutes swim and 10 laps which was a great increase from the ZERO laps I’ve done for years. I was quite proud of my self. The rest of my Saturday went on as planned.

I knew I was working my first 8 hour shift in a few months on Sunday so I had planned to take the day of the gym, but that didn’t mean I took a day off of my goals and plan. Instead of hitting the gym I did a 15 minute low impact video I found on youtube from the HASFIT channel.https://youtu.be/xPNUd-NgCnA (Side note I highly recommend their videos). After that I felt great and was ready to take on my day.

As you see things didn’t always go as planned but I kept my focus on my goals and adapted my plan to meet those changes and challenges. I’m also learning that it’s little efforts that will make the most impact. I won’t always be able to hit the gym and get a full workout in, but I can easily find 15 minutes to get the blood flowing with a low impact cardio like the one I did today. If you know of any videos and routines like this please share them with me, or if you have any questions or comments you can comment on here or send an email to chunktochuck@gmail.com

That’s it for now. Good luck and keep your head up!

Chuck

Author: chuckthecanuck

I'll put something here someday

1 thought on “React and Adapt”

Leave a Reply

