The Reeling Feeling

“You have to lift your head out of the mud and just do it” -Teri Garr

Yesterday I made the HUGE leap forward and shared my first blog posting on Facebook. Needless to say there were a few shocked people. Even family and close friends did not know how I was truly feeling, although they had their suspicions. The response from everyone was simply amazing. I mean I knew the usual suspects would respond like Mom, dad, in-laws, brothers, sisters and a select few friends, but then I started receiving responses from casual acquaintances and friends of friends and even someone who I have no known link to. I truly feel I have an army of people behind me and with all your love, thoughts, prayers & support I can leave all my past issues right where they belong; a stepping stone to a better me!

I wanted to talk about putting your troubles out there for everyone to see, absorb and critique. For years when I read Facebook posts about someone struggling with something, I often wouldn’t read it or think to my self “wow, they should be keeping that private and deal with things on their own”. Looking back I realize how selfish that was of me. For those of you who have put themselves out there and I didn’t offer support or encouragement I am truly sorry and frankly embarrassed. I know now how hard it is to reveal your struggles. I vow I will NEVER let this happen again. I will be there for you. I may not always be able to give the best advice or even the answers you need, but I will be there to hear you out and help in any way I can. This is my promise to ANYONE, and I truly mean ANYONE, even if I don’t know you feel free to message me and I will be there for you.

Another thing I wanted to mention was my experience the first day I joined the YMCA. After exiting the change room for the fist time I started to feel a rush of anxiety overcome me. I was seconds away from turning around and head back to the change room, when this man, who was probably in his 60’s said to me “Good luck, and keep your head up”. I don’t know if he saw the panic look in my eyes or just picking up on the fact I was walking with a cane and carried a lot of weight. What ever it was, it set a fire inside me. The statement was short and to the point but it helped me at that moment. I want to thank that man, but I’m not sure I’d even recognize him . I ask those of you reading this now, if you ever see anyone struggling in anyway please wish them luck and remind them to keep their head up because those simple words can go a long way.

Thanks for reading! Keep your head up and good luck with whatever it is your doing or going through.

Author: chuckthecanuck

I'll put something here someday

2 thoughts on “The Reeling Feeling”

  1. Good job Chuck. You’re an inspiration and I’m certainly rooting for you. Reading your blog is also helping to knock some sense into myself to get off my own ass and make some changes. All the best! T

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

